Architectural design sequence is divided into 6 steps or phases

1) Program – what are your needs and goals?
(Architects refer to this phase as “programming”.)

2. Investigate – what exists and what can we do?
(What are the existing conditions & what is permitted?)

3. Conceptualize – what are the possible solutions?
(Architects refer to this phase as “schematic design”.)

4) Develop – “pounding out the details” phase
(Referred to as “design development’.)

5) Document – draft the construction drawings & specs
(The project’s “working drawings” or “blueprints”.)

6) Inspection – and construction administration
(Is the project being built to plans and specifications?)


Website Built with

%d bloggers like this: